Old Age

Went to a nursing home to do some volunteer work this past weekend. I went in hoping to get out with a good feeling  but instead I came out with a rather depressing feeling of well … old age. I saw people in their 90s, who have kids who are in their 60s and are about to join them in the nursing homes. Some of them could not feel the time/need to relive themselves and so had a pouch hanging with them all the time. Not being able to hear properly was expected but most had poor eye sight, weight issues, very dry skin and women with hair almost falling out. They were not unhappy but they were not happy either. I told them I will come back but I am not sure I want to go. 😦

Leave a Reply

