Muse

March 12th, 2010 at United Center in Chicago, IL

April 9th, 2010 at US Airways Center in Phoenix, AZ

The lights go down, 20,000 emo-lite teens scream. On the stage there are 3 skyscrapers. In unison, lights start flickering. As each skyscraper window is brightly lit, the lights turn into carbon copies of men walking up stairs to the top of the buildings. These men reach the top as one by one they slowly fall to their end and knock the others down like dominoes. As this happens the walls of the skyscrapers rise, showing the band as the prog-rock demigods they are.

Muse is nothing if not indulgent. And that’s not a bad thing.

Matt and Dominic

It’s fair Muse didn’t get chart recognition until ‘Supermassive Black Hole’ which ismy  second fav. song by them after ‘Plug In Baby’. However, among teens in the U.S. they became well know because of Twilight soundtrack. It’s nothing wrong for me. I appreciate when a good music as Muse get recognized. I don’t think they’re a rip-off of Radiohead or/and Queen. I appreciate they’ve done some records to honor those bands. And of course, they kick ass live and are definitely one of the best live bands today. I was so impressed that few weeks later I ended up seeing them again in Phoenix.

Chris and Dominic jamming together

Back to Muse. As expected, they played nearly half of their latest album. I was pleased to hear United States of Eurasia (1984 reference) while video of oppressive and corrupt governments were displayed(i.e. Hitler, the U.N., and even Obama). The show, much like the resistance album, had a huge 1984 feel to it. Cameras and eyes were prominently shown on the screens. Even the giant balloons filled with confetti were giant eyeballs. For anyone who has not read George Orwell’s classic book, I highly recommend you do it now.

Of course they played the fan favorites: Starlight, Time is Running Out, Knights of Cydonia, and Supermassive Black Hole. I felt the highlights of the concert were their rendition of Feeling Good, New Born, and Unnatural Selection. Though they did transition the songs with heavy riffs, even playing some Hendrix, Nirvana and the Star Spangled Banner.

If I have any gripes with the show it’s that they didn’t play any songs from their first cd, nor did they play a personal favorites of mine “Take A Bow” and “Butterflies and Hurricanes.” But they did manage to pack a lot of rockin’ into this show, but when a concert is over at 10ish, I am left wanting a little more. They hardly spoke to the audience, but I am all right with that, it was no talk, just rock.

All gripes aside, it really was an experience. One of the greatest concerts I’ve seen! Well..two for me since I couldn’t resist 😀 I really feel that even people who don’t know Muse well would even enjoy the whole event.

Here are few videos I took.

Leave a Reply

