Maroon 5

Maroon 5 at Marcus Amphitheatre

August 22nd, 2008 – Milwaukee, WI

Having bought these tickets 3 months ago, I really wanted to watch these guys play. I think it’s because I’m still in love with ‘Sunday Morning’ from their ‘Songs About Jane’ album, so I had to see them in person. This was my second time in a year as I have seen them in Columbus earlier. At one point in the night, I was doubtful that I would even actually see them, because there was a chance of rain

Given that I was running late, the chances of missing Sara Bareilles, who was supporting Maroon 5, were very likely. Since the concert already started, I bolted down to the theatre. Man was that the longest jog from a parking spot to the theatre. Luckily I made it on time, before she got on stage.

I must admit, Sara Bareilles is really good. Even better live. If you like her music, she’s one to watch, and good looking.

But with the main event that came on next, Maroon 5, the theatre was buzzing. Great way to open the concert up, with ‘If I Never See Your Face Again’, oozing sexuality across the stage; great beat. They followed it up with ‘Makes Me Wonder’; you gotta love that dirty bass sound. Though, I was suprised by what came next.

They played ‘Harder To Breathe’. It was quite a contrast to the opening first two albums, since the newer songs are more clubby type tracks. I guess I was expecting more of the newer songs; in retrospect, all concerts showcase new and old songs. But that’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy what they played.

They peppered songs off the new album, such as the ones I mentioned, plus ‘Won’t Go Home Without You’, ‘Little Of Your Time’ and ‘Can’t Stop’, with songs off the old album, like ‘Sunday Morning’, ‘She Will Be Loved’, and ‘This Love’. It was really great, because you could contrast the old and new, but you still got great music.

I’ve read reviews about Maroon 5 concerts, and that’s probably the real reason why I wanted to watch them live. Apparently they’re better in person, because their more spontaneous, and involve the crowd, and sometimes, if you’re lucky, they play cover songs. I don’t know what it is, but it’s always great to hear a band cover someone else’s song. And that’s what happened, which was what I was hoping for. They covered ‘Crazy’ by Gnarls Barkley, just for fun. The fanboy inside of me, just died. It was great!

Although you could tell that there were quite a few posers there, I still enjoyed the concert immensely, especially when the majority of the crowd got involved with the song ‘Won’t Go Home Without You’. The only real shame was the fact that they didn’t play ‘Until You’re Over Me’ or ‘Infatuation’, which I suppose is fair enough, because they’re bonus tracks off their new album. But if they did, it wouldn’t have been a perfect concert.

Leave a Reply

